Lakhimpur to face Guwahati in final

Lakhimpur will take on Guwahati in the final of the Pulin Das Memorial Under-14 Inter Dis- trict Cricket Tournament to be played at the Judges’ Field here tomorrow.

In the first semifinal played at the ACA Stadium Annex Ground, Lakhimpur eased past Udalguri by nine wickets. Opt ing to bit, Udalguri were bun- dled out for a paltry 23 runs in 14.2 overs. Not a single bats man was able to cross the dou ble figure mark. For Lakhimpur, Pawan Tiwari was the pick of the bowlers with figures of four wick ets conceding 2 runs in his 3.2 overs while Rohit Pegu bagged three wickets giving away 7 runs in 4 overs. Kuldeep Gau- tam chipped in with two wick- ets for 8 runs in 4 overs.

In reply, Lakhimpur reached the winning target of 24 runs losing one wicket in 7.5 overs. Skipper Himanshu Das re- mained unbeaten on 15 runs off 23 balls (4×2). For Udalguri, the lone wicket was scalped by Ra- jiv Siyakoti for 8 runs in 4 overs. In the second semifinal

played at the Judges’ Field, Guwahati registered a convinc- ing 98 run-win against Jorhat. Put in to bat, Guwahati scored 168 for 9 in their allotted 30 overs. Mrinmoy Das smashed 54 runs off 39 deliveries (4×2, 6×5) while Arjun contributed a well made run-a-ball 45 (4×6, 6×1). Sameer Mahato chipped in with 31 runs off 46 balls (4×3). For Jorhat. Priyam Sarkar was the pick of the bowlers with a haul of five wickets giving away 26 runs in 6 overs while Ishan Ranjan Dutta picked up two wickets. Prince Bora and Awaish Qasim scalped a wicket each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *